Grind Burger Kitchen (Louisville, KY)

Reviewed by: Kate

This past weekend I traveled to Indianapolis for work to go to The Gideons International Convention. If you travel much for work, you know that you don’t usually get to really see much of the cities you visit. So while in Indy, I got to see a lot of the Marriott hotels where the Convention was being held and eat a lot of chicken, but didn’t see much of Indianapolis. I was in desperate need for a burger.

A friend of mine told me about a burger joint called Grind Burger Kitchen in Louisville and suggested I stop there on my way back to Nashville. This particular friend and I tend to disagree on things like food often so I was a little skeptical, but we decided to give it a try.

FullSizeRender

Grind Burger Kitchen started as a food truck in 2012 and after booming business, decided to open a permanent location. They pride themselves on their locally grown menu items and grass-fed beef. They have won several awards, being recognized as one of the best burgers in Louisville.

IMG_9805

IMG_9800.JPG

When we entered Grind Burger we were greeted by a girl named Lauren who explained to us how to order and recommended any burger on the menu. That really narrowed things down for us. My coworker and friend, Hannah, decided to go with a more traditional burger with cheddar cheese, lettuce, and mustard, and chose fries as her side. I decided to go with the B&B burger which was topped with bacon, brie cheese and habanero jam. Lauren suggested getting the apricot jam instead of the habanero, which are both made in house, so I asked for jams on the side so I could try them both. My new friend Lauren also recommended the brussel sprouts so that’s what I went with as a side.

IMG_9798.JPG

The burgers were both delicious (I took a few bites of Hannahs to make sure they knew how to make a more traditional burger as well). I don’t know which jam I liked better because they were both good and really complimented the brie and bacon well. I would have to agree with Lauren when she said the brussel sprouts “aren’t your dads”.  I know brussel sprouts might sound like a weird side to go with a burger but they were really good and seasoned well.

Overall, atmosphere was great, service was quick, and it wasn’t too far off the highway. If you are looking for a place to stop and eat while in Louisville I definitely recommend stopping at Grind Burger Kitchen.

 

flavor

Burger Flavor:  5/5

bun

Bun Goodness: 4/5

valueBurger Value: 4/5

toppingsToppings: 5/5

xfactorX Factor: 5/5

5star

Leave a Reply

