Love at First Bite…

Written by: Kate

2.5 years ago I fell in love. With a burger. It was love at first bite. We spent the summer together in Colorado. It was wonderful and delicious and perfect, but eventually we had to go our separate ways. Some might say it was just a summer fling. A mountain top experience (literally). But was it? If you are reading this and have had a conversation with me in the last 2.5 years, you have more than likely heard about this burger. I STILL dream about this burger. I have daydreamed about spontaneously buying a plane ticket and flying to Colorado for dinner just to eat this burger. When you are in love, you do crazy things.

It’s possible that this blog would not even exist if it weren’t for this burger- it’s the burger that made me fall in love with burgers. I have alluded to it on the blog before, but haven’t fully discussed it.  I wanted to wait for the right opportunity. Well, that opportunity is now, because a week from today, I am returning to Colorado and will be reunited with my favorite burger- The Popper from Crave Real Burgers.

Several friends, probably in an effort to guard my heart, have warned me that I’m probably going to be disappointed. Sometimes memories are better than reality. After all, I’ve eaten A LOT of burgers in the last 2.5 years. Maybe it’s not as good as I remember! My expectations are set pretty high. I mean, my first Instagram photo was taken at Crave Burger (that’s a big deal!)

 photo Screen Shot 2015-02-26 at 6.57.36 PM_zpsxneev3iw.png

My first Instagram

 

That’s why I decided to write this blog post. I wanted to share with you my memory of this burger before I review it for real. I feel my memory of this burger can best be described in this clip from HIMYM (sorry for the quality):

So what is The Popper? Beer battered FRIED cream cheese and jalapeños, lettuce, tomato, onion, chipotle mayo, and avocado topped on a delicious local burger. My mouth is watering just thinking about it. This is just one of the many creative burgers Crave offers.

The Popper

Not only are the burgers delicious, but they also have incredible (spiked) milkshakes. I went to Crave on my 22nd birthday and got the Grasshopper spiked milkshake. Vanilla ice cream, Oreos, chocolate syrup, mint syrup, crème de menthe liqueur and crème de cacao liqueur. Perfection.

7 days. 7 days until I am reunited with Crave Burger. I’m excited to try The Popper again, and hopefully try another one of their burgers as well. Maybe the Colorado burger? Shredded lamb, poblanos, onions, pepper jack, avocado, chipotle mayo and tomato on a burger. Or maybe the Love Stinks burger?  Imagine roasted garlic cream cheese, more garlic, onions, roasted red pepper, and red pepper aioli all topped on a burger.

I’m hoping I’m not disappointed. I’m hoping it wasn’t just another summer fling.

Stay tuned for Part 2 of this review! Kevin and I will write a full review of Crave Real Burger discussing expectations vs reality when I return from Colorado,  as well as some other Colorado burger reviews. I plan on trying several burger joints while I’m in Denver!

Thanks for reading!

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Love at First Bite…

  1. Pingback: Crave Real Burgers Part 2 |

Leave a Reply

