Grill ‘Em All (Alhambra, CA)

Reviewed by: Kevin

 photo 42fd4e0b-39a4-4aa4-9c10-398b347f2803_zpsf59bef30.jpg
Grill ‘Em All is advertised as the hardest rocking burger joint in the Greater Los Angeles area.  You could say I know a thing or two about the hard rock lifestyle – I got the Grill ‘Em All gift card I used on my trip while cat-sitting for my boss (Rock And Roll!).  And, I must say, it delivers on its claim.

Stepping into Grill ‘Em All is a step into the past, where jean jackets abounded and people actually respected The Eagles.  80’s Rock paraphernalia is slung across the walls, along with the bold proclamation, “Death To False Burgers” in a jagged, bold black-on-red mural.  A hair metal documentary (rockumentary?) showed on the screens.  But the comparison was too fitting, as Grill ‘Em All, like most hair metal, was all flash and no substance.

I ordered the “Jump In the Fryer”, a burger topped with cheddar cheese, bacon, fried chicken, and a maple-and-hot-sauce drizzle, situated between two waffles.  While this burger contained a great deal of unique items, each had one thing in common – salt.  Fried Chicken is salty, bacon is salty, hot sauce is salty, even burger patties are typically seasoned with a dash of Morton’s.  All this sodium made the burger a bit one note, and the waffles, which were soaked to translucency with oil, didn’t help.  Perhaps I need to mind my preference for simplicity over complication when ordering my next burger.

 photo IMG_0999_zps7bce1482.jpg

 photo 5ce3c1da-e2ec-483a-858e-f668e7b9cf6c_zpsc683a289.jpg
Despite my below-average burger, I have hope for Grill ‘Em All because they are responsible for introducing me to their anvil fries.  Anvil fries are a play on poutine, which is strange, because there’s nothing less rock-and-roll than the French part of Canada.  Grill ‘Em All’s anvil fries are topped with duck confit, cheese curds, duck gravy, and a sprinkling or crushed cracklin, or pork rinds, and they are truly special.  Should you rush to Grill ‘Em All for a burger?  Probably not, but it’s worth a stop for the anvil fries alone.

What do you think?  Am I wrong about Grill ‘Em All?  Do you think I’m crazy because I don’t like music from the 1980’s?  As always, let us know in the comments section.

flavor

Burger Flavor:  2/5

bunBun Goodness: 1/5

valueBurger Value: 2/5

toppingsToppings: 2/5

xfactorX Factor: 5/5

2star(but the fries are a solid 5/5)
One thought on “Grill ‘Em All (Alhambra, CA)

  1. Pingback: The Oinkster (Los Angeles, CA) |

Leave a Reply

