GrindHouse Killer Burgers (Atlanta, GA)

Reviewed by: Kate

So I’ve been doing some traveling again, and recently spent another weekend in Atlanta. Since starting this blog back in March, whenever I travel somewhere new my first thought is usually “hmm where should I get a burger?”.  It’s fun to research burger joints across the country, and so far all of my friends have been supportive. Atlanta has a lot of great burger options! I have several friends from Atlanta, so I asked them for their input. Names that came up pretty consistently were The Vortex (which you can read my thoughts on here), Yeah! Burger, The Ghetto Burger at Ann’s Snack Bar, Flip Burger Boutique, and of course The Varsity. Hopefully I will get to experience all of these burgers someday. Upon arriving in Atlanta I was pretty set on going to Yeah! Burger. After talking to some locals though, they convinced me to try a place called GrindHouse Killer Burgers. This was a name that hadn’t come up before (but like I said- Atlanta has a lot of options). Me and my friend, Alana, decided to give GrindHouse a try.

 photo 4fc61e85-9337-4f13-8a41-3c281d14db6d_zps5ce2840b.jpg

There are actually 4 different GrindHouse locations in Atlanta. We opted to go to the one in the Sweet Auburn Curb Market. It was basically like a little farmer’s market.  It was a little hard to find when you don’t know Atlanta very well, but then again I am just a terrible navigator to begin with…ask anyone who knows me. There is a parking lot behind the market where you have to get a ticket and pay to park, HOWEVER, GrindHouse gladly validated our ticket so we could park free for an hour. I really hate finding parking in Atlanta, so the GrindHouse and I were already off to a great start.

Because this burger joint is located in a market, it was pretty small. Basically there was just a counter to sit at. I really enjoyed the simplicity, and the service was great! Ok, so speaking of service…slightly embarrassing side story: I like to take pictures of the places I visit for the blog (duh!).  As I was waiting in line to order, I took a picture of the counter, but forgot to turn the flash on my camera off (*face palm*) . The guy working the cashier definitely thought I was taking a picture of him, and gave me a really funny look. When it was my turn to order he goes “So..did you take a picture of me earlier?”. It turned out ok though because it then gave me the opportunity to explain this blog to him. Some people at the counter heard me talking too and were asking me lots of questions. They were pretty intrigued.

 photo 4a4799e4-248f-4e57-b3f9-7795ca0021b9_zpscdc1ca03.jpg

SO anyway, I ordered what the GrindHouse called “The Yankee Style”. Being a yankee myself, it was a no brainer. The only problem is…I don’t know why it was called The Yankee. It was a burger topped with shredded lettuce, grilled onion, thick cut bacon, and bleu cheese spread. I probably should have asked my cashier friend. Alana’s theory was “well it has bleu cheese on it, and bleu cheese can be a little off-putting…just like northerners”. OUCH! Another friend told me she thinks it might be because it’s red, white and blue (red-bacon, white-onions, blue-bleu cheese). That explanation seemed to make more sense. If you have another theory, I would love to hear it!
 photo photo6_zps701a2ebe.jpgGuys. This burger was fantastic! GrindHouse was respectful of the beef flavor itself and had no need to add anything fancy. They were not skimpy on the bacon like some burger joints are. It was the perfect size- I left completely satisfied. The price was really reasonable- about $7 with a drink. Oh, and the fries! The fries were perfect. I’m not usually a huge fan of crinkly flies, but these fries had some special seasoning on it which reminded me of Old Bay. I don’t know what was in the seasoning, but they shouldn’t change it. My only complaint was there were a few too many caramelized onions. I just picked them off though- problem solved.
photo (1)Alana just got a classic burger with cheddar and mustard. She agreed that it was a great burger. “I might not drive all the way to Atlanta every time I want a burger, but I will admit I like it better than any of the burgers I’ve tried in Nashville and people rave about, such as Pharmacy“. That’s a big statement, Alana!

Overall- great burger, great experience, great company. Kevin has given several west coast burgers 5 stars. I’m excited to finally give a burger east of the Mississippi the honor of 5 stars.

 

flavor

Burger Flavor:  5/5

bunBun Goodness: 4/5

valueBurger Value: 5/5

toppingsToppings: 5/5

xfactorX Factor: 5/5

5star
One thought on “GrindHouse Killer Burgers (Atlanta, GA)

  1. Pingback: Stock & Barrel (Knoxville, TN) |

Leave a Reply

