Stout (Studio City, CA)

Reviewed by: Kevin

 photo StoutLogo_zpsf929a701.jpg

I would guess Stout in Studio City, CA is so named because their aim is to provide patrons with formidable burgers and robust beers paired excellently. Seeing as how there is an entire family of beers named “Stout”, beer is where I’ll start!

Stout One photo StoutBurgerOne_zps5ceb66d8.jpg

I did not get a “Stout” beer. I can barely drink a mimosa without getting tipsy, so I opted for something a little more lightweight-friendly. Our waitress had a handful of beers in mind to be paired with each burger. You read that correctly – just as the fancy people who try to convince me that wine doesn’t taste like dirty mop-water like to pair different wines with their meals, Stout has committed to pairing different types of beers with each of their unique burgers. In my case, I was suggested a Chouffe Biere Du Soleil. If you don’t know what that means, that’s ok! Neither did I! But it was fruity and a little sweet, and it totally worked with my burger. The beer portion of my evening was a wild success.

Stout 2 photo Stout2_zps66b26a0e.jpg

So if the beer was so perfectly paired, the burger must have really worked too, right? Yeah, I suppose so. I ordered The Six Weeker, topped with brie, arugula, caramelized onions, and fig jam. And while the fig jam was my jam, I couldn’t shake the feeling that this was just another gourmet burger. There was nothing about it that excited me. The patty itself was ok, if under-seasoned. The toppings worked well together, but I had no Wow Moment. Stout’s burger was pretty good, but ultimately it was just another stop on the LA Burger Tour. I have no complaints, but LA has a lot to offer, and Stout just impactful enough to draw me back in.

Final Verdict: Stout has decent burgers and exceptional beers, but if you’re in Studio City, there’s an Umami Burger down the street. Just go there instead.

flavor

Burger Flavor:  3/5

bunBun Goodness: 3/5

valueBurger Value: 2/5

toppingsToppings: 3/5

xfactorX Factor: 4/5

3star
Leave a Reply

