Slater’s 50/50 (Pasadena, CA)

Reviewed by: Kevin

 photo 1c842054-32dc-4f03-9711-0e1b238da10a_zps75d629a0.jpg
One of the greatest disappointments of my life was the movie Cowboys and Aliens.  Few movie trailers grab my attention the way Cowboys & Aliens did.  And rightfully so – we’re talking about Daniel Craig, as a cowboy, blowing up spaceships!  There was no way it wasn’t going to be great.  And then it came out, and it wasn’t great.  I mean it was ok, I guess, but I don’t go see movies because I like to shrug and search for half-hearted compliments.

In the same way, I had this review basically written before I went to Slater’s 50/50 in Pasadena, CA.  I mean, a burger made of half beef, half bacon?  There’s no way this won’t be extreme and delicious.  I was ready to draw a sweeping comparison to the band Fun., using the bold exuberance of the song Some Nights as an illustration of what makes a Slater’s burger great.  This burger would be fearless and brash, and that’s why I was supposed to love it.

But I didn’t love this burger.  It didn’t feel risky, or audacious, or even a little Fun..  It was the Cowboys & Aliens of burgers, and it left me shrugging and wanting.

I created my own burger with the 50/50 patty (obviously) on a brioche bun with mozzarella, arugula, jalapenos, roasted red peppers, caramelized onions, and fried pickles.  It sounded delicious on paper, and it wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t without flaw, either.  The friend pickles were good in theory, and if each pickle hadn’t slid out of it’s breaded casing, I probably would have loved it.  Unfortunately, that wasn’t the case.

The patty itself was cooked a tad unevenly.  Some parts were delicious and bacon-y, but there were too many spots where the patty had burned for me to fully enjoy it.  And, as I’ve already stated, the outrageous-sounding bacon-ness of the patty was less “ridiculous-tasting” and more “balanced breakfast-tasting.”  Not bad, but not what I had hoped for.

There were some great things about Slater’s, however.  In particular, they had a variety of creative, fantastic sauces.  The bacon ketchup was bangin’ and I particularly enjoyed the pumpkin sauce they served with my sweet potato fries.

In the end though, perhaps my expectations were set too high.  But every burger should be cooked to impress, and impressed I was not.

 photo Slaters2_zpsb953c416.jpg photo 219b748a-7318-49e8-a3d7-21e38e34dd9b_zpsdfa87f10.jpg

flavor

Burger Flavor:  2/5

bunBun Goodness: 3/5

valueBurger Value: 2/5

toppingsToppings: 2/5

xfactorX Factor: 2/5

2star

One thought on “Slater’s 50/50 (Pasadena, CA)

  1. Pingback: The Oinkster (Los Angeles, CA) |

Leave a Reply

