12 South Taproom and Grill (Nashville, TN)

Reviewed by: Kate

 photo logo_zps44c191b2.png
The 12 South Taproom is a popular hangout for many Nashvillians. Located in the popular 12 South neighborhood, they have an extensive selection of craft beers on tap, as well as canned and bottled beer. They have your typical bar menu, but they have a reputation for serving quality food that has care and thought put into it. I was happy to learn that they serve organic, local, grass-fed beef. Having lived in Nashville for 6 years now (wow! has it really been that long?!), and for being somewhat of a foodie, you would think I would have gone to the 12 South Taproom plenty of times! Especially with my Alma Mater within walking distance. Nope! It wasn’t until last week that I went to the Taproom for the first time.

To be honest, I wasn’t planning on ordering a burger when I got to the Taproom. I was there to get a drink with some friends, but when I got there a burger sounded good so I decided to give it a try. I ordered the Black-n-Blue burger with my expectations set pretty low. Don’t get me wrong, I wasn’t expecting a bad burger. I just expected a typical burger from a bar. Satisfying, but not memorable.  The menu didn’t give some fancy description that uses a bunch of words you don’t really understand. You know those pretentious menus I’m talking about? Where you only really recognize half of the words, but it sounds like it could be good so you just order and hope for the best. The Taproom kept things simple, and the description just read “hot melted bleu cheese, grilled onions on bun”. I appreciate descriptions that are straight and to the point. I ordered parmesan mashed potatoes as my side.

 photo d3828e3a-d794-4bd3-9ab0-446b38d61b62_zpsac77f670.jpg
This burger far exceeded my expectations! The toppings added a nice flavor, but did not take away from the flavor of the beef which was seasoned exceptionally well. The burger:bun ratio was perfect. My last bite was equal parts bun and burger. If I had one word to describe this burger it would be “balanced”. I do wish the bun was a little sturdier. While the bun was a good size, it was a little flimsier than I would like leaving the potential for it to become easily soggy. The parmesan mashed potatoes were delicious!  I definitely recommend them if you are looking to mix it up from the standard fries with your burger. I tasted the gouda macaroni which was also delicious, but seemed too heavy to be paired with a burger.

 photo a7a210ad-1767-4e51-beb2-cce4248e5554_zps4b714a56.jpg

 photo 12-South-Nashville-TN-10_zpsba11c358.jpg

The overall atmosphere at the Taproom was great for a summer night. They have a really nice patio we sat out on that has a laid back vibe, perfect for hanging out with friends.  So the next time you are at the Taproom sipping a beer while catching up with friends, order the burger! Then let me know what you think!

flavor

Burger Flavor:  5/5

bunBun Goodness: 3/5

valueBurger Value: 3/5

toppingsToppings: 4/5

xfactorX Factor: 4/5

4star
**Coming soon**
Later this week I am going to Nashville Lifestyles’ Battle of the Burger in the Gulch! There will be a live burger competition as local restaurants battle it out to be deemed Nashville’s Best Burger. I am excited to try all of the burgers competing and share with you my thoughts! Be on the lookout for a new post next week!
2 thoughts on “12 South Taproom and Grill (Nashville, TN)

Leave a Reply

