Betty Burgers (Santa Cruz, CA)

Reviewed by: Kevin

 photo c3bfac0e-5d8d-4475-a8ba-74456b80d05a_zps79c75763.jpg

“Betty’s lubes are all mayonnaise based.”

Gross.  Look, I’m all for a great double entendre or a That’s What She Said joke, but you want me to eat your food, right?  I mean, maybe it’s because mayonnaise is already disgusting enough without me thinking of it as “lube”, but this was just too much.  Needless to say, with this statement being the first thing I read upon entering Betty Burgers, Betty and I didn’t get off to a great start.  We did, however, get off to a great finish.  (Now I’m the one making double entendres)

I ordered The Duke, a half-pound burger topped with lettuce tomatoes, red onions, pickles, grilled pineapple, and cheddar cheese.  I asked for mine without lube, on principle, and ordered a side on sweet potato fries.  The fries themselves were excellent.  Truly, they were among the best sweet potato fries I’ve ever had.  Crispy on the outside, soft and tender on the inside.  They were a delight, and they paired extremely well with the sweetness from the pineapple on my burger.

The quality of the burger matched that of the fries.  If I had to describe Betty’s in one word, the word would be “fresh”.  The pineapple was thick and juicy, the vegetables refreshing in contrast with the heaviness of the bacon.  I was expecting the raw red onions to overpower the burger, but they were a perfect compliment.  And the pickles.  The wonderful, long, pickles.  I was afraid the tartness would clash with the pineapple, but it didn’t.  In short, the toppings were simple in nature, but placed expertly.  The bun was soft, but sturdy, and the patty itself was hearty and satisfying.  As I said, Betty finished strong.
 photo BettyBurger_zpse5aeaa4e.jpg
After a string of disappointing burgers, I am pleased to present you with an excellent burger on National Cheeseburger Day.  What are you doing to celebrate this important holiday?  And, as always, tell us where we should be celebrating it in the comment section!

flavor

Burger Flavor:  4/5

bunBun Goodness: 3/5

valueBurger Value: 4/5

toppingsToppings: 5/5

xfactorX Factor: 3/5

4star
One thought on “Betty Burgers (Santa Cruz, CA)

  1. Pingback: 360 Burger (Nashville, TN) |

Leave a Reply

