The Vortex Bar & Grill (Atlanta, GA)

Reviewed by: Kate

 photo Urbex_vortex_midtown_zps7549e557.jpg

Several weeks ago I made a trip to Atlanta to visit some friends. It was a wonderful weekend full of touring the World of Coke, eating lunch at CNN, pillow talk, laughter and just enjoying each other’s company. These are friends I don’t get to see very often, but whenever I do we can pick up right where we left off. You know the friends I am talking about — I’m sure you have friends like that too. When I first met up with these friends one of the first things they said to me was “we should get burgers while we are here!” (any friend who suggests we get burgers is a friend I am going to keep around for a while). None of us were from Atlanta, so we really didn’t have a clue as to where we should go for a good burger. I decided to ask the world of Facebook, and multiple people told me we had to go to The Vortex. Several people even told me that it was one of the best burgers they’ve ever had. Now that got my attention.

 photo friends_zps09f4315f.jpg

So after exploring downtown Atlanta all day, we headed to The Vortex to get one of their burgers. Something to note if you are thinking of going to The Vortex: this is not a family-friendly burger joint. You have to be 18+ to get in, and it definitely has a bar atmosphere. Something this New Yorker always forgets is that smoking is allowed in bars down here. Although I’m not one to typically enjoy a smokey bar, The Vortex had a really fun atmosphere. It definitely had a “thanks for coming, don’t be a jerk” ambiance, which could be a turn off for some, but I found it humorous. Our server was really friendly and the service was fast. I think one of my favorite things about this place was their menu. It was witty, and really funny to read. Here is a PDF of their “Stuff You Really Need To Know Page” to give you an example of what I’m talking about.

Now the real reason for this post. The Burger. The Vortex had all sorts of unique sounding burgers. Their menu was 5 pages long, and 2 of those pages were just burgers.  There truly was something for everyone.  Every time I go to a new burger joint I have trouble deciding if I should order a standard burger, or try something unique. On one hand, I figure if a burger place can’t get the “standard” right, how I can I even consider giving them a good review on this blog? On the other hand, I appreciate creativity, and love trying new things. This particular night my friend, Kaitlin, and I decided to order the Vortex Cheeseburger (with cheddar cheese) AND the Yokohama Mama and split it. That way we could experience the best of both worlds. The Yokohama Mama was topped with a teriyaki glaze, jack cheese, and a ring of grilled pineapple. Both burgers were truly delicious. They were decent sized burgers, full of flavor, great burger:bun ratio, and reasonably priced. The sides were good, but not memorable. I didn’t mind though considering the burger should be the star anyways — which it was.

 photo 1c01655a-0711-4360-a377-3f84194dd2f7_zpsa17abe06.jpg  photo 84a1cee8-0b51-4de6-8389-0da78128d2a0_zps8a175867.jpg

I would definitely go back to The Vortex if I find myself in Atlanta again. After all, they have so many more burgers I have to try! As always, leave us comments in the comments section!

flavor

Burger Flavor:  5/5

bunBun Goodness: 4/5

valueBurger Value: 3/5

toppingsToppings: 4/5

xfactorX Factor: 3/5

4star
2 thoughts on “The Vortex Bar & Grill (Atlanta, GA)

  1. Pingback: Zuni Cafe` (San Francisco, CA) |

  2. Pingback: GrindHouse Killer Burgers (Atlanta, GA) |

Leave a Reply

